Course Title: Embedded Control Systems

Lecturer and Tutor

Prof. Dr. sc. Samarjit Chakraborty, Dipl.-Ing. Licong Zhang

General Information

  • General
    • Master course
    • Lectures and tutorials will be in English
    • 2 SWS Lecture, 1 SWS tutorial
    • 5 ECTS-Credits
  • Schedules
    • Lectures: Wednesdays 09:45-11:15 in Room 3999 (Details see schedules below)
    • Tutorials: Tuesdays 16:45-17:45 in Room 3999 (Details see schedules below)
  • Exam
    • Written Exam 
    • 90 min
    • closed book
    • allowed Materials
      • One piece of A4 (2 pages) paper with hand-written notes
      • A non-programmable calculator
    • 15.02.17 - 09:45 - 11:15
    • Room 0602 (0506.EG.602)

 

 

 

Content

In many application domains (e.g., automotive, avionics, industrial automation), a number functionalities are achieved by feedback controllers and they are often implemented on either centralized or distributed embedded architectures. Design and implementation of such feedback control loops involve (i) design of appropriate control algorithm (e.g., gains) such that high-level objectives of the functionalities are satisfied (ii) design of architectural parameters (e.g., task partitioning, mapping, schedules) such that the algorithm does what it is supposed to do. Often, the control algorithms are developed by the control theorists treating the implementation architecture as a black-box. On the other hand, the architectural parameters are designed by the computer scientists treating the feedback control tasks with semantics of usual real-time tasks. Such separation between control design and controller implementation often results in overly conservative design solutions both from control engineering and embedded systems perspectives. Aim of this course is to introduce relevant control theoretical aspects to the computer engineers and relevant embedded systems topics to the control theorist. In other words, this course will cover various methods for design and implementation of feedback control systems on embedded platforms.

After attending this course, the students will learn various design aspects of embedded control systems: (i) how to design controllers that needs to be implemented on a digital platform, (ii) how to design the embedded implementation platform for a specific controller and, (iii) what are the important design aspects.

Lecture Schedules

  • 19.10.16 (Wed.) 09:45 - 11:15 
  • 26.10.16 (Wed.) 09:45 - 11:15 
  • 09.11.16 (Wed.) 09:45 - 11:15 
  • 16.11.16 (Wed.) 09:45 - 11:15 
  • 23.11.16 (Wed.) 09:45 - 11:15 
  • 30.11.16 (Wed.) 09:45 - 11:15
  • 06.12.16 (Tue.) 16:45 - 17:45
  • 14.12.16 (Wed.) 09:45 - 11:15 
  • 21.12.16 (Wed.) 09:45 - 11:15 
  • 11.01.17 (Wed.) 09:45 - 11:15 
  • 18.01.17 (Wed.) 09:45 - 11:15 
  • 25.01.17 (Wed.) 09:45 - 11:15 Lecture Slides 8 and 9
  • 01.02.17 (Wed.) 09:45 - 11:15 
  • 08.02.17 (Wed.) 09:45 - 11:15 

Tutorial Schedules

  • 08.11.16 (Tue.) 16:45 - 17:45 
  • 15.11.16 (Tue.) 16:45 - 17:45
  • 22.11.16 (Tue.) 16:45 - 17:45
  • 29.11.16 (Tue.) 16:45 - 17:45
  • 13.12.16 (Tue.) 16:45 - 17:45
  • 10.01.17 (Tue.) 16:45 - 17:45
  • 19.01.17 (Tue.) 12:15 - 13:00
  • 24.01.17 (Tue.) 16:45 - 17:45
  • 31.01.17 (Tue.) 16:45 - 17:45
  • 07.02.17 (Tue.) 16:45 - 17:45