Reliable Computing at Nanoscale: Challenges and Opportunities


Prof. Mehdi Tahoori from Karlsruhe



Improvements in lithography-based chip manufacturing technology have propelled an astonishing growth of electronic systems. However, serious challenges to this trend are due to fundamental physical limits of CMOS technology. Emerging nanotechnologies using bottom-up self-assembly fabrication promise to supersede and/or co-exist with CMOS technology in future.

A major challenge for emerging nanotechnologies is reliability. Due to inherent non-determinism in the bottom-up self-assembly fabrication processes of nanotechnologies, nano devices are orders of magnitude more fragile than those fabricated using conventional lithography. The result is an increased number of all types of failures that occur both at the manufacturing and during operating lifetime, as well as extreme parametric variations. In this talk, challenges for dependable nano computing will be discussed and efficient approaches for defect, fault and variation tolerance will be overviewed.


Mehdi Tahoori is a full professor and Chair of Dependable Nano-Computing (CDNC) at the Department of Computer Science, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany. He is also an adjunct professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Northeastern University, Boston, USA. He received his PhD and M.S degrees in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University in 2003 and 2002, respectively, and a B.S. in Computer Engineering from Sharif University of Technology in Iran, in 2000. In 2003, he joined the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department at the Northeastern University as an assistant professor where he promoted to the rank of associate professor with tenure in 2009. During 2002 to 2003, he was a research scientist at Fujitsu Labs of America working on reliability issues in deep sub-micron VLSI designs. His research interests include nano computing, reliable computing, VLSI testing, reconfigurable computing, emerging nanotechnologies, and system biology. He was a recipient of National Science Foundation (NSF) Early Faculty Development (CAREER) award.