Timing Analysis and Optimizations of Embedded Software


Prof. Abhik Roychoudhury (Associate Professor of Computer Science, National University of Singapore)


Execution-time analysis of real-time embedded software is an active area of research. In the past, a lot of the efforts in this area have been directed at analyzing sequential programs to give hard timing guarantees. At the National University of Singapore, we have built Chronos, a worst-case execution time (WCET) analyzer which performs detailed micro-architectural modeling. In this talk, I will briefly touch upon Chronos, and then focus on several other research activities which build on the Chronos effort. These include:

i) timing analysis of concurrent software on multi-cores (where the focus is on issues such as low-level thread interference and analyzing shared resources such as shared cache in multi-cores),

ii) timing analysis driven memory optimizations for both sequential and concurrent programs, and

iii) timing analysis of model-driven software (where the software is not hand-constructed but generated from high-level modeling languages).


Abhik Roychoudhury is an Associate Professor of Computer Science at the National University of Singapore . Abhik received his Ph.D. in Computer Science from the State University of New York at Stony Brook . His research interests are in software and system validation with specific focus on embedded systems. Abhik has published widely in premier conferences and journals, with over 75 peer-reviewed publications. His research has led to scalable and usable analysis tools for embedded software which enhance software quality as well as programmer productivity. Two meaningful examples of such endeavor are the Chronos static analysis tool for ensuring time-predictable software execution, and the JSlice dynamic analysis tool for software debugging. Such tools have a substantial user-base spread across many different countries and have usage in teaching / development apart from research. His research has been recognized by various awards including ACM SIGSOFT Distinguished Paper Award (from ESEC-FSE 2009) and an IBM Faculty Award (2008).